News: Welcome to the brand new DSO Planner App Website... Please register!
December 07, 2019, 05:06:13 PM

Author Topic: Weather and/or seeing prediction integrated  (Read 1581 times)

StarChild

• View Profile
Weather and/or seeing prediction integrated
« on: December 10, 2015, 12:13:15 PM »
Hello

I'm new to this DSO Planner software, but I find it very attractive and usefull (for me at least). At the moment I am in "trial" with the free version, but so far it's very convincing, I still need to clarify another capability of the software, but that's on a different topic.

Especially I like the posibility to filter and have a list of objects visible with a certain piece of equipment in a certain location, at a certain date/time, or Moon illumination. This filtering also take into account the limiting magnitude of the sky in the observation spot, that's nice.

Now comes the question: do you think it's possible, or makes sense to have an automatic connection between DSO Planner and some weather forecast sites (accuweather, meteoblue, or such other sites...). Or even to connect to the wether widget from the android device on which DSO Planner is running (usually on 99.99% of Android devices such a widget is used)

In this way, it's possible to get some sort of "astronomical weather forecast/plann" exactly for the observation site, and to make a better planning of your observation time.
I hope I was clear enough in the description.

Good luck ! I wish you all a clear sky !  :)

StarChild
« Last Edit: December 10, 2015, 12:26:23 PM by StarChild »

halx

• Administrator
  • DSO Developer
    • View Profile
    • DobMod
Re: Weather and/or seeing prediction integrated
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2015, 05:25:27 PM »
Hello, StarChild.